Sara Baume awarded the Rooney Prize

Tramp Press is delighted to announce that Sara Baume has been awarded the 2015 Rooney Prize for Irish Literature. This prestigious award is given annually to an emerging Irish writer under forty years of age. Past winners include Colin Barrett, Frank McGuinness, Anne Enright, Mike McCormack, Mark O’Rowe and Claire Keegan, so Sara is in brilliant company.

Since 2007 the prize has been run through the Oscar Wilde Centre for Irish Writing of the School of English, where Sara studied for her M.Phil in Creative Writing.

Sara flew home from her residency with the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa to receive the award, presented by the Provost of Trinity College and Dr Peter Rooney.

We want to wish Sara massive congratulations on this well-deserved recognition of her talent. With thanks also to the Arts Council for their support in bringing Sara’s incredible debut novel to publication.

Congrats Sara! x